Upcoming Events

About Elmore County

More Announcements...

The legislature carved Elmore County in 1866 from portions of Montgomery, Autauga, Coosa and Tallapoosa counties. Wetumpka, the town where 19th century planters took their cotton to be shipped down to Mobile, is now the county seat. There are seven townships: Coosada, Deatsville, Eclectic, Elmore, Millbrook, Tallassee, and Wetumpka.

Elmore County has about 75,000 residents and is the third fastest growing county in the state, having experienced a 68 percent population growth between 1990 and 2005. The population is mainly rural, 20.6 percent black and 77 percent white.

Of all adults over 25, 77 percent are high school graduates, and 16.6 percent are college graduates. The county is home to six elementary schools, five middle schools, five high schools and one technical school.

Tourist attractions include Fort Toulouse State Park, Lanark, Whitewater Festival, Coosa River Challenge Race, Attack on Swayback Bike Race, Christmas on the Coosa, Riverfest, and lakes Jordan and Martin. Major agricultural products include beef, cotton, forestry and nursery plants. Industries in Elmore County produce water meters, textiles and aerospace and general composites.



Staff Photo

Meet the staff & directions

Katrina Mitchell
County Extension Coordinator
Elmore County Agricultural Center
340 Queen Ann Rd
Wetumpka, AL 36092
Phone: (334) 567-6301

Local Contacts

Photo of Carol Pugh
Carol Pugh
Administrative Support Associate II-ACES/AAES
Photo of Katrina Mitchell
Katrina Mitchell
County Extension Coordinator
Photo of Chrissy Boshell
Chrissy Boshell
TES Trades/serv/gen Labor Ce
Photo of Jane Allen
Jane Allen
TES Administrative Support Ce
Photo of Deborah Barnes
Deborah Barnes
TES Administrative Support Ce