Upcoming Events

About Marion County

More Announcements...

Marion County is a rural, industrialized county located in Northwest Alabama. Its boundaries are Franklin County on the north, Winston and Walker Counties on the east, Fayette and Lamar Counties on the south and the State of Mississippi on the west. The county ranks 26th among the state’s 67 counties in land area, encompassing 743 square miles. The county’s 479,385 acres are used as forest 77.8%, agriculture 21.4%; urban and built up; 0.5%; other including water, wetland, and barren, 0.4%.

There are six principal towns. They are: Hamilton, the county seat, located near the center of the county; Guin, 14 miles south of Hamilton; Winfield, 7 miles east of Guin; Hackleburg, 14 miles northeast of Hamilton, Bear Creek, 6 miles northwest of Haleyville in Winston County and Brilliant between Guin and Winfield.

Staff Photo

Meet the staff & directions
7:30-12:00; 12:30-4:00

Lisa Murphy
County Extension Coordinator
Office Address:
372 7th Avenue SW
Hamilton, AL 35570
Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 400
Hamilton, AL 35570
Phone: (205) 921-3551

Local Contacts

Photo of Ponna Mahan
Ponna Mahan
TES Administrative Support Ce
Photo of Lisa Murphy
Lisa Murphy
County Extension Coordinator
Photo of Ginger Avery
Ginger Avery
Administrative Support Associate II-ACES/AAES